Skip to Main Content
Title I: Quality, Affordable Health Care for All Americans
Subtitle A: Immediate Improvements in Health Care Coverage for All Americans
- Section 1001: Amendments to the Public Health Service Act
- Section 1002: Health Insurance Consumer Information
- Section 1003: Ensuring that Consumers Get Value for Their Dollars
- Section 1004: Effective Dates
Subtitle B: Immediate Actions to Preserve and Expand Coverage
- Section 1101: Immediate Access to Insurance for Uninsured Individuals with a Preexisting Condition
- Section 1102: Reinsurance for Early Retirees
- Section 1103: Immediate Information that Allows Consumers to Identify Affordable Coverage Options
- Section 1104: Administrative Simplification
- Section 1105: Effective Date
Subtitle C: Quality Health Insurance Coverage for All Americans
- Part I: Health Insurance Market Reforms
- Section 1201: Amendment to the Public Health Service Act
- Part II: Other Provisions
- Section 1251: Preservation of Right to Maintain Existing Coverage
- Section 1252: Rating Reforms Must Apply Uniformly to All Health Insurance Issuers and Group Health Plans
- Section 1253: Effective Dates
Subtitle D: Available Coverage Choices for All Americans
- Part I: Establishment of Qualified Health Plans
- Section 1301: Qualified Health Plan Defined
- Section 1302: Essential Health Benefits Requirements
- Section 1303: Special Rules
- Section 1304: Related Definitions
- Part II: Consumer Choices and Insurance Competition through Health Benefit Exchanges
- Section 1311: Affordable Choices of Health Benefit Plans
- Section 1312: Consumer Choice
- Section 1313: Financial Integrity
- Part III: State Flexibility Relating to Exchanges
- Section 1321: State Flexibility in Operation and Enforcement of Exchanges and Related Requirements
- Section 1322: Federal Program to Assist Establishment and Operation of Nonprofit, Member-Run Health Insurance Issuers
- Section 1323: Community Health Insurance Option
- Section 1324: Level Playing Field
- Part IV: State Flexibility to Establish Alternative Programs
- Section 1331: State Flexibility to Establish Basic Health Programs for Low-Income Individuals Not Eligible for Medicaid
- Section 1332: Waiver for State Innovation
- Section 1333: Provisions Relating to Offering of Plans in More than One State
- Part V: Reinsurance and Risk Adjustment
- Section 1341: Transitional Reinsurance Program for Individual and Small Group Markets in Each State
- Section 1342: Establishment of Risk Corridors for Plans in Individual and Small Group Markets
- Section 1343: Risk Adjustment
Subtitle E: Affordable Coverage Choices for All Americans
- Part I: Premium Tax Credits and Cost-sharing Reductions
- Subpart A: Premium Tax Credits and Cost-sharing Reductions
- Section 1401: Refundable Tax Credit Providing Premium Assistance for Coverage Under a Qualified Health Plan
- Section 1402: Reduced Cost-sharing for Individuals Enrolling in Qualified Health Plans
- Subpart B: Eligibility Determinations
- Section 1411: Procedures for Determining Eligibility for Exchange Participation, Premium Tax Credits and Reduced Cost-sharing, and Individual Responsibility Exemptions
- Section 1412: Advance Determination and Payment of Premium Tax Credits and Cost-sharing Reductions
- Section 1413: Streamlining of Procedures for Enrollment through an Exchange and State Medicaid, CHIP, and Health Subsidy Programs
- Section 1414: Disclosures to Carry Out Eligibility Requirements for Certain Programs
- Section 1415: Premium Tax Credit and Cost-sharing Reduction Payments Disregarded for Federal and Federally-assisted Programs
- Part II: Small Business Tax Credit
- Section 1421: Credit for Employee Health Insurance Expenses of Small Business
Subtitle F: Shared Responsibility for Health Care
- Part I: Individual Responsibility
- Section 1501: Requirement to Maintain Minimum Essential Coverage
- Section 1502: Reporting of Health Insurance Coverage
- Part II: Employer Responsibilities
- Section 1511: Automatic Enrollment for Employees of Large Employers
- Section 1512: Employer Requirement to Inform Employees of Coverage Options
- Section 1513: Shared Responsibility for Employers
- Section 1514: Reporting of Employer Health Insurance Coverage
- Section 1515: Offering of Exchange-participating Qualified Health Plans through Cafeteria Plans
Subtitle G: Miscellaneous Provisions
- Section 1551: Definitions
- Section 1552: Transparency in Government
- Section 1553: Prohibition Against Discrimination on Assisted Suicide
- Section 1554: Access to Therapies
- Section 1555: Freedom Not to Participate in Federal Health Insurance Programs
- Section 1556: Equity for Certain Eligible Survivors
- Section 1557: Nondiscrimination
- Section 1558: protections for Employees
- Section 1559: Oversight
- Section 1560: Rules of Construction
- Section 1561: Health Information Technology Enrollment Standards and Protocols
- Section 1562: Conforming Amendments
- Section 1563: Sense of the Senate Promoting Fiscal Responsibility
