Medical Billing and Coding: Websites

Links, guides and information related to coding, billing, audit and physician groups.

The American Hospital Association's Central Office serves as the official U.S. Clearinghouse on medical coding for the proper use of ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS (formerly ICD-9-CM) coding systems and Level I HCPCS (CPT-4 codes) for hospital providers and certain Level II HCPCS codes for hospitals, physicians and other health professionals.

These files contain Level II alphanumeric HCPCS procedure and modifier codes, their long and short descriptions, and applicable Medicare administrative, coverage and pricing data.

The Errata and Technical Corrections links listed include corrections and other information related to the CPT Code Books Published by the American Medical Association.

provides data and statistics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide

Information on Current Procedural Terminology by the American Medical Association. If you sign up for a free account, you can perform up to 5 free searches a day.

contains a searchable list of Level II HPCPS Codes. Search for codes or procedures by code or keyword lookup.

AAPC has created these coding resources to help you effectively assign codes in the ICD-10-CM.

The CMS website for ICD-10 resources, toolkits, FAQs, and more.

Training tutorials for self-learning or classroom use by the WHO

News, resources, and practice quizzes for medical coding.

official website for Alabama state department of Public Health; includes links to different agencies, services, laws and regulations

official government website for information on Medicare & Medicaid

Health Finder provides tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.

Healthy People provides science-based, national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services information on Health Information Privacy

HIPAA guidance materials from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

ODPHP leads disease prevention and health promotion efforts in the United States.

International organization that works with governments and other partners to help combat diseases and keep people healthy. Website provides information on various health topics, resources, and news.

AAPC provides education and professional certification to physician-based medical coders and to elevate the standards of medical coding by providing student training, certification, ongoing education, networking, and job opportunities.

Professional organization for health information management whose primary goal is to provide the knowledge, resources and tools to advance health information professional practice and standards for the delivery of quality healthcare; site offers useful resources for students, up-to-date information and news in the field, and career information

The American Hospital Association (AHA) is the national organization that represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities.